Sonic Arts


Cort Lippe

Cort Lippe – Univesrity of Buffalo. Chief of Lejaren Hiller Computer Music Studios.

Cort Lippe studied Renaissance music in Italy for a year, composition and computer music with Larry Austin in the USA, and followed composition
and analysis seminars with various composers including Boulez,
Donatoni, K. Huber, Messiaen, Penderecki, Stockhausen, and Xenakis.

From 1980-83 he studied and did research in The Netherlands, at the
Instituut voor Sonologie with G.M. Koenig and Paul Berg in the fields of
computer and formalized music. From 1983-1994 he lived in France
where he worked for three years at the
 Centre d’Etudes de Mathematique
et Automatique Musicales (CEMAMu), founded by Iannis Xenakis, while
following Xenakis’ courses on acoustics and formalized music at the
University of Paris. Subsequently, he worked for nine years at the
 Institut de Recherche et Coordination Acoustique/Musique (IRCAM), founded by
Pierre Boulez, where he gave courses on new technology in composition, developed real-time computer music applications, and was part of the
original development team for the software Max.

As a teacher, Lippe has given over 100 presentations and guest lectures around the world, and has been a visiting professor at the Sonology Department of Kunitachi College of Music, Tokyo (1992, 1999-2007,
and 2010-present), the Carl Nielsen Conservatory of Music, Odense, Denmark (1999-2001), New York University (2007), and as recipient of a Fulbright Award in 2009, he spent six months teaching and doing research at the National and Kapodistiran University of Athens, Greece. Since 1994 he has taught in the Department of Music of the University at Buffalo, New York where he is an associate professor of composition and director of the Lejaren Hiller Computer Music Studios.

His research includes more than 35 peer-reviewed publications on interactive music, granular sampling, score following, spectral processing, FFT-based spatial distribution/delay, acoustic instrument parameter mapping, and instrument design.

Lippe’s compositions have received numerous international prizes, including first prizes from the Irino Competition (Japan), the Bourges Electroacoustic Music Competition (France), El Callejon Del Ruido Competition (Mexico), USA League-ISCM Competition (USA), and the Leonie Rothschild Competition (USA); second prize from the Music Today Competition (Japan); third prize from the Newcomp Competition (USA); and honorable mentions from the Prix Ars Electronica 1993 and 1995 (Austria), the Kennedy Center Friedheim Awards (USA), the Sonavera International Competition (USA), the Bourges Electroacoustic Music Competition, and the Luigi Russolo Competition (Italy).

Commissions include the International Computer Music Association, the Sonic Arts Research Center (UK), the Festival El Callejon del Ruido (Mexico), the Dutch Ministry of Culture, the Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie (Germany), and the E-MEX Ensemble (Germany). He has written for many internationally acclaimed soloists, including bassist Robert Black, percussionists Pedro Carneiro, Patti Cudd, and Kenyon Williams, tubists Mel Culberton and Melvyn Poore, saxophonist Steven Duke, clarinetist Esther Lamneck, sho player Mayumi Miyata, harpist Masumi Nagasawa, pianist Yoshiko Shibuya, and bass clarinetist Harry Sparnaay.

Since 1993 Lippe has collaborated with the composers/researchers Miller Puckette and Zack Settel, performing as the Convolution Brothers at festivals worldwide.

His music has been performed at more than 100 peer-reviewed and 150 invited national and international festivals and conferences, including the International Computer Music Conference, ISCM World Music Days, Gaudeamus (The Netherlands), the Music Today Festival (Tokyo), the Bourges Synthese Festival (France), the Huddersfield Festival (UK), the NOW Festival (Germany), and SARC’s Sonorities Festival (UK).

His compositions are recorded on more than 30 CDs, including ADDA, ALM, Apollon, Big Orbit, CBS-Sony, CDCM, CDE Music, Centaur, Classico, CMJ Recordings, EMF, Hungaroton Classic, Harmonia Mundi, ICMC2000/2003, IKG Editions, Innova, MIT Press, Neuma, Salabert, SEAMUS, Sirr, SMC07 and Wergo.